Looking for a job in Richmond, VA (part IV)

Now that I think I have all of my ducks in a row, it’s time to get into job hunting mode. I’ve done it seven times in my career and I think I have it down to a science.

First, I reached out to my network. That led to a referral and an interview loop that I pulled out of for various reasons that had nothing to do with the company. I knew that the company would be great to work for. I didn’t feel like I was a great fit for the role.

A former manager at another company brought me in as a consultant for a short term part time contract.

Then, I reached out to all of the former recruiters I had used before. This didn’t turn up any remote jobs.

Finally, I did something I never do. I started randomly applying for jobs where I had no referrals from either coworkers or third party recruiters. I applied for at least 50 roles over the next two weeks.

The result of my spamming my resume far and wide led to three interviews. I had one rejection, one where they didn’t move forward and one offer. I start in two weeks.

But my time in Richmond wasn’t all about work.

To be continued…

The Digital Nomad @DigitalNomadder