Looking for a job in Richmond, VA (part I)

I had to think long and hard about this post and how much I should share on the internet about it. But, I never wanted it to seem like this lifestyle was all rainbows and unicorns. I’ll have more to say about the downsides of how we live in another post as we approach the end of year one.

But for now, I would like to write a little bit about job transitions while working remotely. This was my first time actually looking for a fully remote role. The job I was hired for in 2020 really just fell into my lap.

It was New Years Day 2020 and my wife and I were sitting on a cruise ship on our way back from Mexico.

https://cdn.uploads.micro.blog/79953/2023/a017314d0f.jpg

We were planning our trips for the upcoming year. We were planning to go to DC, Hawaii and celebrate New Years 2021 in Miami.

Life was good. Of course we all know things didn’t work out as planned then and we still haven’t been to either place - they are all on our list for 2024.

Around April of 2020, a recruiter from Amazon Retail called me about applying for a role as a software developer. I asked would it require relocation. They said it would after Covid lifted. Many people got complacent and thought that Amazon would never require them to come back into the office. It came back to bite them.

I had no interest in giving up my life in the burbs and relocating to Seattle. I was about to end the conversation there and then the recruiter suggested a fully remote role in the AWS Professional Services department where I would be working with customers bringing them on to Amazon Web Services.

I interviewed and they made me an offer….

The Digital Nomad @DigitalNomadder