Back home in Albany, GA

One hard question that people ask me is “What do I consider home?”

Our legal home is Orlando. But we have owned the place since June of last year and have only “lived” there for two months.

I lived in Atlanta all of my adult life. My wife has lived there all of her life until last year. That’s where most of our friends live, where our sons live and we still have our house - until next year.

But then, Albany, GA will always be “home”. I grew up here. My parents and most of my other relatives live here.

We were able to see both sides of my family while here and my wife met my dad’s side of the family for the first time.

My wife was actually able to meet a fitness instructor she knew and they taught a class together.

Then we left Sunday and the fun began. We were suppose to leave at 2:00 but storms delayed our departure to ATL until 8 and then our Atlanta flight was cancelled and we had to rebook our flight until Tuesday.

All of the Hiltons for five miles were booked so we tried to make a reservation at our normal spot when we are in Atlanta.

But we were told there was water damage. Before we moved from Atlanta, we wanted to go to the Halcyon that had just opened. But we didn’t have the opportunity.

We booked two nights at the Embassy Suites Halcyon.

All of our clothes were in our checked luggage and I had nothing to wear clean. Lesson learned, always pack at least one change of clothes in my carry on book bag.

We did our usual thing and tried to call an Uber from the airport. None were picking up.

Then we tried to rent a car - it’s already 7:00 AM Monday and we were at the airport in Albany 12:00 the previous day. We finally got an Uber and got to the hotel and only slept four hours before we found out the flight

Then on top of that we find out flight had been rescheduled for Monday instead of Tuesday. We didn’t get the chance to explore Halcyon after everything that had been rescheduled for that day.

We headed back to the airport for a 3:00 flight and hung out in the Delta lounge until boarding

The Digital Nomad @DigitalNomadder