Los Cabos, Mexico

We left Los Cabos, Mexico about a week ago and it was a different experience.

This was our first time being out of the country except either on a cruise or at an all inclusive. We just got our passports two years ago.

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Los Cabos.

https://cdn.uploads.micro.blog/79953/2023/ecdbca4034.jpg

We booked a year in advanced and only paid $119/night. We stayed for three weeks.

This was our first time staying at a Hyatt Place. I didn’t know what to expect. It is laid out like a Home2Suites. But only had a half size refrigerator and no microwave. I was either able to use a microwave downstairs or ask the bar to put my sandwhiches from Starbucks in the oven.

The breakfast was meh and we ended up eating a combination of Starbucks and at the restaurant in the hotel since we didn’t have a microwave in our room.

There was also no washer and dryer on site. The concierge recommended Cabo Express. They picked up our laundry from the hotel, wash and fold for $40.

While all of the customer facing staff was bilingual, the cooks, housekeeping etc weren’t. Neither were most of the staff at the local Starbucks, McDonalds or Barber I went to twice. The little Spanish I knew helped a lot for me not to feel completely lost. I also can read Spanish better than i can speak it.

For me, it didnt feel completely disconcerting. For my wife, it did. She usually doesn’t mind taking an Uber and exploring by herself while I sork during the week. But she really felt uncomfortable this time. Lesson learned. I won’t be “nomadding” in any non English speaking country. We will be “vacationing” amd be tourists. I don’t think I would have been as comfortable in a non English/non Spanish speaking country. The built in iPhone translate app helped me fill in the gaps. But I wouldn’t depend on it for a language I don’t know at all.

It was frustrating that I didn’t speak Spanish better because I knew it was just because I didn’t practice.

Our friends backed out at the last minute so I ended up working every weekday.

The first weekend, we just happened to come in time for the free Jazz Festival.

The second weekend I did a boat tour. My wife gets motion sickness so I knew she wouldn’t enjoy an Uber, a bus, a 5 hour boat ride on a small boat and back on a bus. It was relaxing and I took pictures. cabos picture

I also did the camel ride. The camel ride was more of a bucket list thing. it was nothing overly exciting.

and we did a food tour.

The Digital Nomad @DigitalNomadder